Book List

15 Kids’ Books for Mother’s & Father’s Day

  • CHILDREN'S

    DADDY & DADA

    MAY 4, 2021

CHILDREN'S

DADDY & DADA

by Ryan Brockington & Isaac Webster ; illustrated by Lauren May

A straightforward and nonjudgmental validation of many LGBTQ+ and other family structures. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    OUR SHED

    MAY 4, 2021

CHILDREN'S

OUR SHED

by Robert Broder ; illustrated by Carrie O'Neill

This dad is a welcome role model for father figures everywhere. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    THE MEANEST OF MEANIES

    MARCH 23, 2021

CHILDREN'S

THE MEANEST OF MEANIES

by Kristin Hensley & Jen Smedley ; illustrated by Paul Briggs

If “being mean…means… // I LOVE YOU!!!” then this kid sure must love her mother. Wouldn’t lots of moms prefer a hug? Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    DAD

    MAY 1, 2021

CHILDREN'S

DAD

by Mifflin Lowe ; illustrated by Dani Torrent

Like this child, readers will want to be like this dad: able to dream big and accomplish anything. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    DAY-OLD CHILD

    MARCH 9, 2021

  • CHILDREN'S

    A MOTHER IS A HOUSE

    APRIL 6, 2021

CHILDREN'S

A MOTHER IS A HOUSE

by Aurore Petit ; illustrated by Aurore Petit ; translated by Daniel Hahn

The final metaphor says it all: “A mother’s a home.” Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    CAVE DADA PICKY EATER

    APRIL 27, 2021

  • CHILDREN'S

    STROLLERCOASTER

    JUNE 1, 2021

CHILDREN'S

STROLLERCOASTER

by Matt Ringler ; illustrated by Raúl the Third & Elaine Bay

Kids everywhere will be honing their tantrum skills in hopes of riding their very own strollercoasters. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    I LOVE YOU AS BIG AS A RAINBOW

    MARCH 2, 2021

CHILDREN'S

I LOVE YOU AS BIG AS A RAINBOW

by Joan Summers ; illustrated by Alberta Torres

Readers will likely want to gather their own natural rainbows, and caregivers should be ready with expressions of love. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    THIS IS YOUR WORLD

    MARCH 23, 2021

CHILDREN'S

THIS IS YOUR WORLD

by Tilly Temple ; illustrated by Sean Julian

The environmental messaging is staid, but the artwork is sweet. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

     MY AMMA'S WHITE STONE MOOKUTHI

    APRIL 15, 2021

CHILDREN'S

MY AMMA'S WHITE STONE MOOKUTHI

by Anusha Veluswamy ; illustrated by Abhilasha Khatri

There are few enough U.S. picture books about South Indian families; it’s a shame this one is so weak. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    I'LL MEET YOU IN YOUR DREAMS

    MARCH 9, 2021

CHILDREN'S

I'LL MEET YOU IN YOUR DREAMS

by Jessica Young ; illustrated by Rafael López

A tender ode to a family’s ever changing (and never-ending) love. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

In this Special Diversity Issue, Michelle Zauner discusses Crying in H Mart and forges connections to her literary heritage.

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!