Book List

20 Best Books To Read in May

  • FICTION

    TRUST

    MAY 3, 2022

FICTION

TRUST

by Hernan Diaz

A clever and affecting high-concept novel of high finance. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    BOOK LOVERS

    MAY 3, 2022

FICTION

BOOK LOVERS

by Emily Henry

A heartfelt and hilarious read about books, sisters, and writing your own love story. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    2 A.M. IN LITTLE AMERICA

    MAY 10, 2022

FICTION

2 A.M. IN LITTLE AMERICA

by Ken Kalfus

A strange, highly compelling tale about what happens when American privilege and insulation get turned inside out. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    COMPANION PIECE

    MAY 3, 2022

FICTION

COMPANION PIECE

by Ali Smith

A truly marvelous tale of pandemic and puns and endurance. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    EMBRACE FEARLESSLY THE BURNING WORLD

    MAY 24, 2022

NONFICTION

EMBRACE FEARLESSLY THE BURNING WORLD

by Barry Lopez

A sterling valediction. Lopez’s many followers will treasure this book. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    TWO WHEELS GOOD

    MAY 24, 2022

NONFICTION

TWO WHEELS GOOD

by Jody Rosen

Fans of bicycling and how-the-world-works reportage alike will find this a great pleasure. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    MY LIFE

    MAY 17, 2022

NONFICTION

MY LIFE

edited by CAPE, the Coalition of Asian Pacifics in Entertainment

A luminous book that highlights the humanity and multitudes of being Asian American. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    MY SEVEN BLACK FATHERS

    MAY 3, 2022

NONFICTION

MY SEVEN BLACK FATHERS

by Will Jawando

A beautifully written and innovatively structured memoir of a biracial Black man’s life journey. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    HOLLOW FIRES

    MAY 10, 2022

  • TEEN

    ALL RISE

    MAY 17, 2022

GRAPHIC NOVELS & COMICS

ALL RISE

by Richard Conyngham ; illustrated by Saaid Rahbeeni , The Trantraal Brothers , Liz Clarke , Dada Khanyisa , Tumi Mamabolo & Mark Modimola

A robust examination of South Africa’s complex, storied history highlighting faces of radical justice. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    SEE YOU YESTERDAY

    MAY 17, 2022

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

SEE YOU YESTERDAY

by Rachel Lynn Solomon

A swoon-y time-travel rom-com that captures the overwhelming nature of first love. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    THE PATRON THIEF OF BREAD

    MAY 11, 2022

  • CHILDREN'S

    SINGING WITH ELEPHANTS

    MAY 31, 2022

  • CHILDREN'S

    FREDDIE VS. THE FAMILY CURSE

    MAY 3, 2022

CHILDREN'S

FREDDIE VS. THE FAMILY CURSE

by Tracy Badua

A spirited fantasy enriched with Filipino culture and history. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    HEART TAKES THE STAGE

    MAY 3, 2022

GRAPHIC NOVELS & COMICS

HEART TAKES THE STAGE

by Steenz illustrated by Steenz

Dishes up sweeter slices of life than the Wimpy Kid series and its clones. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    THE WORLD BELONGED TO US

    MAY 10, 2022

CHILDREN'S

THE WORLD BELONGED TO US

by Jacqueline Woodson ; illustrated by Leo Espinosa

A dream team of talent show and tell a delightful story of summers gone by. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    YES WE WILL

    MAY 3, 2022

CHILDREN'S

YES WE WILL

by Kelly Yang

A radiant tribute to groundbreakers to inspire the next generation. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    I WON’T GIVE UP MY RUBBER BAND

    MAY 6, 2022

CHILDREN'S

I WON’T GIVE UP MY RUBBER BAND

by Shinsuke Yoshitake ; illustrated by Shinsuke Yoshitake

A message to savor, delivered with a light touch and contagious glee. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We talk to Hernan Diaz about his new novel, Trust, a sly and inventive take on the role of money in American life.

 

subscribe
  • kirkus star
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • kirkus prize
  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!