With its exhilarating illustrations, another tale from this master storyteller rings true.

GO ASK OZZIE

A ROTTEN RICHIE TALE

With humorous text and visuals that recount another youthful episode, Polacco takes readers to mid-1950s Oakland, California.

Patricia is in junior high, the same school her “rotten, redheaded older brother…Richie” attends. Her brother embarrasses her with his slovenly hygiene; underscoring this, Polacco draws him as a monstrously funny figure. But one day, he miraculously changes, cleaning up both room and body, and shows up as the ice cream scooper at Ozzie’s lunch counter. He is dating Patricia’s best friend’s older sister, and the slightly younger girls are mortified. Even though the thought of Richie and Diane kissing makes them “want to hurl,” the budding artist has designs on handsome Johnnie Pearson. Once a week at ballroom dancing, Patricia longs for an invitation to dance. Their teacher insists that the boys do the asking, but only the “dweeb…geek…weirdo” Michael McKennah, with braces and glasses, asks her. When the end-of-year dance is announced, she is determined to learn the latest dances. Ozzie offers to introduce her to an expert—but it’s her own brother. He teaches Patricia the popular dances, and she finally shows her prowess and winds up with a surprise boyfriend. Characters and action are rendered with verve in the author/illustrator’s signature style, the scenes full of movement. All main characters present White, but there is racial diversity in the background. (This book was reviewed digitally.)

With its exhilarating illustrations, another tale from this master storyteller rings true. (author's note) (Picture book. 7-10)

Pub Date: Oct. 19, 2021

ISBN: 978-1-5344-7855-8

Page Count: 56

Publisher: Paula Wiseman/Simon & Schuster

Review Posted Online: Aug. 18, 2021

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Sept. 1, 2021

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

A fitting farewell, still funny, acute, and positive in its view of human nature even in its 37th episode.

HORRIBLE HARRY SAYS GOODBYE

From the Horrible Harry series , Vol. 37

A long-running series reaches its closing chapters.

Having, as Kline notes in her warm valedictory acknowledgements, taken 30 years to get through second and third grade, Harry Spooger is overdue to move on—but not just into fourth grade, it turns out, as his family is moving to another town as soon as the school year ends. The news leaves his best friend, narrator “Dougo,” devastated…particularly as Harry doesn’t seem all that fussed about it. With series fans in mind, the author takes Harry through a sort of last-day-of-school farewell tour. From his desk he pulls a burned hot dog and other items that featured in past episodes, says goodbye to Song Lee and other classmates, and even (for the first time ever) leads Doug and readers into his house and memento-strewn room for further reminiscing. Of course, Harry isn’t as blasé about the move as he pretends, and eyes aren’t exactly dry when he departs. But hardly is he out of sight before Doug is meeting Mohammad, a new neighbor from Syria who (along with further diversifying a cast that began as mostly white but has become increasingly multiethnic over the years) will also be starting fourth grade at summer’s end, and planning a written account of his “horrible” buddy’s exploits. Finished illustrations not seen.

A fitting farewell, still funny, acute, and positive in its view of human nature even in its 37th episode. (Fiction. 7-9)

Pub Date: Nov. 27, 2018

ISBN: 978-0-451-47963-1

Page Count: 80

Publisher: Viking

Review Posted Online: Sept. 17, 2018

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Oct. 1, 2018

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

Good-hearted fun—great for fans of Kit Feeny and Babymouse.

MEET THE BIGFEET

From the Yeti Files series , Vol. 1

It’s a Bigfeet family reunion!

Everyone’s favorite frosty, furry cryptid, the yeti, actually has a name: Blizz Richards. From his supersecret HQ in Nepal he keeps in touch with his fellow cryptids, all of whom have sworn an oath to keep themselves hidden. That’s not always easy, especially when there are cryptozoologists, like the nasty (but bumbling) George Vanquist, who are always trying to expose the secretive creatures. Vanquist got a picture of Blizz’s cousin Brian near his home in British Columbia, causing the mortified Brian to disappear entirely. When Blizz receives an invitation to a Bigfeet family reunion in Canada, he calls his buddies Alexander (one of Santa’s elves), Gunthar (a goblin) and Frank the Arctic fox to help him get ready. When they arrive in Canada, Brian is still nowhere to be seen. Can Blizz and his skunk ape and other sasquatch cousins find Brian, have the reunion and evade Vanquist? If anyone can, the Bigfeet clan can. Illustrator Sherry’s first volume in the Yeti Files is a fast and funny graphic-prose tale full of labeled pictures and comic-style panels. Those just starting chapter books may have some trouble with a few big words, but they’ll enjoy the big friendly monsters and immediately ask for the next tale—which looks to be about the Loch Ness monster.

Good-hearted fun—great for fans of Kit Feeny and Babymouse. (Graphic/fantasy hybrid. 7-10)

Pub Date: Sept. 30, 2014

ISBN: 978-0-545-55617-0

Page Count: 128

Publisher: Scholastic

Review Posted Online: May 28, 2014

Kirkus Reviews Issue: June 15, 2014

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more